Welcome to the Ronsetsu-bu!

Hello there.

There’s a great number of visual novel reviews blogs. I do ocasionally take a look at some blogs since I like to read/hear different opinions, and I always thought about making one for myself. English is not my first language though, so I always hesitated to take this step in my second language territory. There’s also the problem with ‘what makes me different from others?’, since no one will bother to read what I have to say if I don’t have anything detachable to show.

This is where I had the idea to create the Ronsetsu-bu!
Here’s the thing… I do love to write, and writing reviews is pretty nice. But there’s a lot of different things I also wanted to try, so I thought: “Why not doing everything I want to do in a single place?
And then I decided to form a ‘club’! Here’s where I’ll work on several kind of contents related with novels (Not only visual novels, though. I do like my light novels, and they deserve more love). Hopefully my efforts will eventually bring people curiosity (Yeah, I’m talking about you who are reading this right now) and maybe make them join the club too!

First of all, let me introduce myself. You can call me ‘Testarossa’, or only ‘Testa’ like some friends like to do (Or you can call me Buchou… Why not, right?). It has been a few years since I started reading novels. I do love to read, so when I started reading them I couldn’t stop anymore. That was not enought though, so I had to start studying Japanese so I could go even further inside this dungeon. Since time is precious I can’t really finish a lot of novels per year, but I’m ready to sacrifice some hours of sleep so I can read more of them. I’m an ambicious guy who wants to make this community (Be it VN community or LN community) a good place to be. Unfortunately the situation is not good at all and it’s growing worse each day, that’s why you can call me ‘ambitious’. It’s a tough objective to have.

Well then, that’s enough about me for now. Let’s talk about what kind of things you will find at this Ronsetsu-bu.
Here is a list:

  • Reviews – Well, of course. I’ll be writing reviews of both translated and untranslated VNs. I’ll also maybe write LNs reviews, but if I do it’ll be only about completed works (Or maybe I can do volume reviews like you usually see everywhere, who knows). I’ll try to make all my reviews as spoiler free as possible.
  • Comments – That’s an interesting one. Sometimes when I’m still in the middle of some work, I find myself with the urge to talk about something related to that work. Like talking about how well-made is Fate/Stay Night’s worldbuilding, for example. These will be spoiler free short posts, just some curiosities.
  • Character Analysis – It just makes me sad when I see an really interesting character being called ‘flat’, ‘one-dimensional’ or any other meaningless buzzword people toss around nowadays. So I grow to love make deep analysis about a character, even if I don’t particularly like the said character. If you like these, you can always show my posts to your friend so they can see a different perspective to something they don’t like.
  • Learning Experience – I don’t know how to call this… But some works make me learn, ruminate and see new perspectives to several things. Yeah, I like this kind of thing. I’ll probably write some of these when the time comes, talking about what a certain work gave me. It’s fine to escape to an other world, but it’s even better if you come back to reality with something special from that world, right?
  • Random Posts – Always talking about novels, but sometimes about random things too. This section is just an excuse to go off-topic in my own blog if I ever feel like writing about something else.
  • Translations – Yeah, I do have interest in translating something. There’s several points though, like the fact I don’t have the slightest idea about programming and I don’t want to translate something that’s still ongoing (Mostly about LNs here). I don’t really want to create a team to work on a Visual Novel project because I’m not even sure if I can go until the end, if I’m alone I don’t need to worry about someone else work going to waste. But oh well, you may or not see the start of a translation project here someday.

And that’s about it, I think. I’m bad with lists since I tend to always forget something.

Anyway, this is just an introductory post about what you can expect from the Rosentsu-bu. For now it’s just me and my passion, but maybe you’ll see new staff members in the future. For now, I hope you can learn something new in your time here!

Leave a comment